YA Reviews

Blog Tour: Araceli’s Path by Marion Surles – Book Trailer

ARACELI’S PATH Among Angels and Devils in Juarez by MARION SURLES Genre: Realistic Fiction / Border Stories / Mature Middle Grade Publisher: Love and Literacy Date of Publication: November 30, 2019 Number of Pages: 145 Scroll down for the giveaway! Araceli comes from a blended, dysfunctional family held together by the love of a grandmother. … Continue reading “Blog Tour: Araceli’s Path by Marion Surles – Book Trailer”

Blog Tour: The Paris Affair by Susanne Dunlap

The Paris Affair by Susanne Dunlap Publication Date: September 30, 2020 Paperback & eBook; 244 pages Series: Theresa Schurmann Mystery, Book 3 Genre: YA/Historical Fiction Apparently, false rumors about Marie Antoinette are all the fashion in 1783. Marie Antoinette is facing hostility from the populace, inflamed by rumors circulated in pamphlets throughout Paris. The rumors … Continue reading “Blog Tour: The Paris Affair by Susanne Dunlap”

Blog Tour: A Golden Fury by Samantha Cohoe

A Golden Fury by Samantha Cohoe Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance, Historical Fiction Publication: October 13, 2020 Age Group: YA Set in eighteenth century England, Samantha Cohoe’s debut novel, A GOLDEN FURY (Wednesday Books; October 13, 2020), follows a young alchemist as she tries to save the people she loves from the curse of the Philosopher’s … Continue reading “Blog Tour: A Golden Fury by Samantha Cohoe”

Author Interview: Dear Hero by Hope Bolinger and Alyssa Roat

Dear Hero Authors: Hope Bolinger and Alyssa Roat Published: September 28, 2020 Publisher: INtense Publications Genre: YA/Contemporary/Romance TWEET CUTE X I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU Up-and-coming teen superhero Cortex is on top of the world—at least, until his villain dumps him. If he’s going to save his reputation, he needs a new antagonist, and fast. … Continue reading “Author Interview: Dear Hero by Hope Bolinger and Alyssa Roat”

ARC Review: Fable by Adrienne Young

Fable Author: Adrienne Young Published: September 1, 2020 Publisher: Wednesday Books Format: eBook Source: NetGalley Filled with all of the action, emotion, and lyrical writing that brought readers to Sky in the Deep, New York Times bestselling author Adrienne Young returns with Fable, the first book in this new captivating duology. Welcome to a world made dangerous by the … Continue reading “ARC Review: Fable by Adrienne Young”

ARC Review: Kiki’s Delivery Service by Eiko Kadono, Translated by Emily Balistrieri

Kiki’s Delivery Service Author: Eiko Kadono Published: July 7, 2020 Publisher: Delacorte Press Format: eBook Source: NetGalley Nostalgic fans of the Miyazaki film and newcomers alike–soar into the modern classic about a young witch and her clever cat that started it all!  Half-witch Kiki never runsfrom a challenge. So when her thirteenth birthday arrives, she’s eager to … Continue reading “ARC Review: Kiki’s Delivery Service by Eiko Kadono, Translated by Emily Balistrieri”

ARC Review: Twin Daggers by MarcyKate Connolly

Twin Daggers Author: MarcyKate Connolly Published: August 25, 2020 Publisher: Blink Format: eBook Source: NetGalley Aissa’s life is a web of carefully constructed lies. She and her twin sister, Zandria, are Magi spies, magic users most believe to be extinct. And they’re on a mission for revenge.  This action & adventure spy thriller–a fantasy spin … Continue reading “ARC Review: Twin Daggers by MarcyKate Connolly”

ARC Review: Where Dreams Descend by Janella Angeles

Where Dreams Descend Author: Janella Angeles Published: August 25, 2020 Publisher: Wednesday books Format: eBook Source: NetGalley In a city covered in ice and ruin, a group of magicians face off in a daring game of magical feats to find the next headliner of the Conquering Circus, only to find themselves under the threat of … Continue reading “ARC Review: Where Dreams Descend by Janella Angeles”

@sot_tours Blog Tour: Kings & Daemons by Marcus Lee

Kings & Daemons by Marcus Lee Genre: Fantasy, Romance Publication: May 25, 2020 Age Group: Young Adult A tale of conquest, dark kings, and daemonic heroes. A spellbinding story that will enchant you with its plot of ambition, love, betrayal, sacrifice and redemption. Over fifty years have passed since Daleth the seemingly immortal Witch-King and … Continue reading “@sot_tours Blog Tour: Kings & Daemons by Marcus Lee”

Blog Tour: The 8th Island Trilogy – Inside the Sun by Alexis Marie Chute with iRead Book Tours

  Join Us for this Book Series Tour from Jul 7 to Aug 10, 2020! “A Wrinkle in Time meets The Princess Bride.” – Review by Lee Lee Thompson, The Perpetual You Magazine “Chute’s novel weaves STAR WARS-like characters with a WONDER-like message to form an enrapturing read for booklovers of all ages.” – US … Continue reading “Blog Tour: The 8th Island Trilogy – Inside the Sun by Alexis Marie Chute with iRead Book Tours”

Blog Tour: The 8th Island Trilogy – Below the Moon by Alexis Marie Chute with iRead Book Tours

  Join Us for this Book Series Tour from Jul 7 to Aug 10, 2020! “A Wrinkle in Time meets The Princess Bride.” – Review by Lee Lee Thompson, The Perpetual You Magazine “Chute’s novel weaves STAR WARS-like characters with a WONDER-like message to form an enrapturing read for booklovers of all ages.” – US … Continue reading “Blog Tour: The 8th Island Trilogy – Below the Moon by Alexis Marie Chute with iRead Book Tours”

Blog Tour: The 8th Island Trilogy – Above the Star by Alexis Marie Chute with iRead Book Tours

  Join Us for this Book Series Tour from Jul 7 to Aug 10, 2020! “A Wrinkle in Time meets The Princess Bride.” – Review by Lee Lee Thompson, The Perpetual You Magazine “Chute’s novel weaves STAR WARS-like characters with a WONDER-like message to form an enrapturing read for booklovers of all ages.” – US … Continue reading “Blog Tour: The 8th Island Trilogy – Above the Star by Alexis Marie Chute with iRead Book Tours”

Review: Sisters of Sword and Song by Rebecca Ross

Sisters of Sword and Song Author: Rebecca Ross Published: June 23, 2020 Publisher: HarperTeen Format: eBook Source: Edelweiss From the author of The Queen’s Rising comes a thrilling YA stand-alone fantasy about the unbreakable bond between sisters. Perfect for fans of Ember in the Ashes, Sky in the Deep, and Court of Fives. After eight … Continue reading “Review: Sisters of Sword and Song by Rebecca Ross”

Bonus Review: The Mermaid, The Witch, and the Sea by Maggie Tokuda-Hall

The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea Author: Maggie Tokuda-Hall Published: May 5, 2020 Publisher: Candlewick Press Number of Pages: 368 pages Format: Paperback Source: Goodreads Giveaway A desperate orphan turned pirate and a rebellious imperial daughter find a connection on the high seas in a world divided by colonialism and threaded with magic. Aboard … Continue reading “Bonus Review: The Mermaid, The Witch, and the Sea by Maggie Tokuda-Hall”

Review: The Shadow Wand by Laurie Forest

HER WORLD-ALTERING SECRET CAN’T BE HIDDEN MUCH LONGER Elloren Gardner hides the most powerful secret in all Erthia—she is the Black Witch of Prophecy, and destined to triumph…or be used as the ultimate weapon of destruction. Separated from everyone she loves, isolated and hunted, Elloren must turn to the last person she can trust—her fastmate, … Continue reading “Review: The Shadow Wand by Laurie Forest”

Review: A Song of Wraiths and Ruin by Roseanne A. Brown

A Song of Wraiths and Ruin Author: Roseanne A. Brown Published: June 2nd, 2020 Publisher: Balzer + Bray Number of Pages: 480 pages Format: eBook Source: Edelweiss+ Synopsis from Goodreads The first in an fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore in which a grieving crown princess and a desperate refugee find themselves on a … Continue reading “Review: A Song of Wraiths and Ruin by Roseanne A. Brown”

Review: This Eternity of Masks and Shadows by Karsten Knight

This Eternity of Masks and Shadows is a wild ride of espionage, intrigue, reincarnated gods, and a seedy supernatural underworld.  Even after reading the synopsis of this book, I still didn’t know what I was getting into when I picked up an ARC.  It’s such an intricate and layered narrative that I really did enjoy … Continue reading “Review: This Eternity of Masks and Shadows by Karsten Knight”

Review: The Chalice and the Crown by Kassandra Flamouri

The Chalice and The Crown is the debut YA fantasy from Kassandra Flamouri.  This title is dazzling and oh so interesting!  This novel meld magic, madness, beauty, and visceral imagery into a cohesive narrative that is mind-bogglingly fantastic and dark!  Immediately, I felt the influence of Black Swan, a ballerina falling into madness, but I … Continue reading “Review: The Chalice and the Crown by Kassandra Flamouri”

Review: My Long List of Impossible Things by Michelle Barker

Michelle Barker’s second YA novel, My Long List of Impossible Things, explores the aftermath of World War II through the eyes of a German teenager.  It depicts the struggles of a country and a people reeling from the horrors of war, silent compliance with genocide and Nazism, while being occupied by another dictatorial regime, the Soviet … Continue reading “Review: My Long List of Impossible Things by Michelle Barker”

Review: The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan by Sherry Thomas

The Magnolia Sword is a beautiful re-telling of the story of Mulan.  This story has the things I look for in a teenage romance/historical fiction retelling of a myth:  blindfolded arrow catching, looks that can fell trees, and exciting conflict! Before you start reading, I must warn you:  this novel is not in the same style … Continue reading “Review: The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan by Sherry Thomas”

Review: The Northern Witch Series by K. S. Marsden

K. S. Marsden is an accomplished writer with three series under her belt.  The Northern Witch series is Marsden’s new YA series featuring Mark, an openly gay witch in training, who is navigating high school, boys, relationships, and his apprenticeship as a new witch.  His Nana is an integral part of the series, delivering sassy lines and … Continue reading “Review: The Northern Witch Series by K. S. Marsden”

Review: Chain of Gold by Cassandra Clare

Set in Edwardian London, Chain of Gold, follows a cast of characters from all the Shadowhunter families you already know:  Lightwood, Herondale, Fairchild, Blackthorn, Carstairs, etc.  And a few you haven’t heard about yet:  Bridgestock, Townsend, Wentworth, etc.  As with all of Cassandra Clare’s novels, this is a wonderful romp through London with plenty of danger, intrigue, romance, twisting plot points, … Continue reading “Review: Chain of Gold by Cassandra Clare”


Follow My Blog

Get new content delivered directly to your inbox.

%d bloggers like this: